Bylaws of the Clarke County Democratic Committee


Membership of the Democratic Committee shall be elected by Mass Meeting between the 1st of December of every odd numbered year and the 15th of January of every even numbered year.  This meeting shall be open to any person who is registered to vote in Clarke County, Virginia.

Any such person attending the Mass Meeting may be elected, or if unable to be present at said meeting, may be considered for membership on the Committee. Said individuals will be nominated by current members of the Committee except for the initial membership which will be chosen by a simple majority of those eligible to vote and present at the Committee’s first meeting.

Dues assessments for membership may be levied at the discretion of the Executive Committee of the Clarke County Democratic Committee.


At each organizational meeting, officers of the Clarke County Democratic Committee will be elected.  The permanent Chair of the Committee will take nominations from the floor and all persons who are members of the Committee will vote for the following:  Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.  The office of Secretary and Treasurer may be combined if agreed to by the Committee.  


The Executive Committee of the Clarke County Democratic Committee shall consist of the elected Officers who shall serve a term of two years from the date of the organizational meeting or until a proper subsequent election is conducted, whichever occurs later.


The Chair shall:Preside at all meetings.  Ascertain that a quorum is present prior to calling any meeting to order for the conduct of business.  Represent the Committee at Legislative District Committee meetings unless the Chair does not live in a particular district, or unless the Chair appoints another Officer to fill in temporarily. 

The Vice-Chair shall:

Perform such duties as may be assigned by the Chair to perform his or her duties.  Assume the duties of the Chair in event of absence.  Assume the duties of the Chair in event of resignation or inability of the Chair to perform his or her duties until the election of a new Chair at the next regular meeting. 

The Treasurer shall:

Be responsible for all monies of the Committee, and act on behalf of the Committee to collect all monies and pay all proper bills which must be approved by the Committee and itemized receipts presented before such payment.  No checks may be written to cash.  The Treasurer shall submit a written financial report at each meeting.

The Secretary shall:

Keep minutes of every meeting of the Committee.  Maintain attendance records.  Keep all records organized in an orderly fashion and have minutes of all previous meetings at each regular meeting.


The full Democratic Committee shall meet at least 4 times a year, with meetings normally scheduled on the first Tuesday of each month throughout the year, however, excluding months where other events may take precedence (at the discretion of the Executive Committee), such as the annual holiday party or the summer picnic.

The Executive Committee shall also meet in person or by phone whenever it is considered necessary to execute party business.

Special meetings of the Democratic Committee may be called by the Chair in case of an emergency, with three days notice being given. 

Twenty percent of current members of the Committee shall constitute a quorum at Committee meetings.

A simple majority of those present and voting shall be necessary for the passage of any motion or resolution by the Democratic Committee.

“Robert’s Rules of Order” shall govern all Democratic Committee, Executive Committee or Special Committee meetings.

Any member of the Executive Committee who, without notification to the Chair, is absent from three consecutive regular meetings shall be sent a letter by the Secretary asking if he or she desires to remain a member of the Executive Committee.  This section does not apply to public office holders.


No member of the Committee shall publicly support, endorse or assist a candidate who is opposing a Democratic candidate.  The Committee may remove from both office and membership, by a majority of those eligible, present and voting, any person found guilty of neglect of any duty imposed upon him or her.


Vacancies on the Committee shall be filled at any regular meeting of the Committee.  Nominations will be accepted from the floor, and voted on by a majority of members present.


These Bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the Clarke County Democratic Committee members present and eligible to vote after presentation at a meeting, of which members were given advance notice. 

Effective February 2020